Branches of Government

Read Isaiah 31:1 through 35:10


The government of the United States has three branches—judicial, legislative, and executive. The judicial branch oversees the court system of the United States and interprets the laws. The legislative branch, with representatives from all fifty states, makes the laws. The executive branch sets national policy and represents the country to other nations. It includes the president, vice president, and members of the cabinet.


Each branch is tasked with specific responsibilities. This separation of power prevents any one branch from having too much power.


Unlike the United States government, all power will one day reside solely in one person, our Savior:


For the Lord is our judge, the Lord is our law-giver, the Lord is our king; it is he who will save us (Isaiah 33:22).


Only God has the power and authority to be in charge of judging what is right and wrong, making the laws, and being the ruler of His people. Believers know this is already true, and it will be evident when Christ comes back to reign.


Prayer Suggestion:

Thank You, Father, that You are the all-wise, all-knowing, and all-powerful God.

(c) by Gospel Publishing House, 1445 Boonville Ave., Springfield, Missouri 65802